The Basics of Accessibility

The WCAG 2.0 guidelines break down accessibility into four major concepts that can be remembered through the acronym of 'POUR':

  • Perceivable
  • Operable
  • Understandable
  • Robust

On the following pages, we will briefly explore each of these concepts and give simplified examples of how you can apply each concept to your website or electronic content.